switch to 12 gauge?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-02, 07:22 PM
J
JimNReba
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
switch to 12 gauge?

I used 14 gauge wire in some receptacles in my garage. As is my custom, I wrap rubber tape around the lugs of the receptacle.

Today, I opened up one of the boxes, and noticed evidence of heat (the rubber tape was melted over the lugs). The outlets carry a fairly heavy load from time to time: power tools, freezer, leaf blower.

I'm fairly sure that switching to 12 ga. with correct the heat issue. It's a 15 amp circuit. There are five outlets on the run.

Am I on the right track?

Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-29-02, 07:56 PM
thiggy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 718
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds as if you were pulling right around 15 amps at some time. If you had been drawing more, the fuse/breaker would have blown. I would say that replacing the wire with #12 should alleviate the overheating problem at the receptical, unless the outlet itself is defective and not making good contact.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-02, 09:45 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Might I suggest that when you replace the wire replace the receptacle you noticed the overheating on. The price of the new receptacle is small in comparison to the cost of an unsafe receptacle and once they overheat I personally never trust them again.
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-02, 05:59 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would suggest that the overheating problem was not the wire itself, but the termination to the receptacle. Is there any evidence of overheating to the insulation as it enter the box and wall? If not, replace the receptacle, and reterminate the same wire (unless its aluminum, then replace the wire too). Although #14awg wire is only rated for connection to 15A circuits, it can carry its fair share of 15A plus. If you feel that the breaker is working correctly, meaning that it protects at 15A, then the wire will be fine.
Only upgrade to #12 if you have low voltage problems.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: