new dryer location??

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-02, 10:48 AM
errodri61
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
new dryer location??

hello, i need to move my dryer location
i've got a gas dryer and i want to replaced it . my question is, my electrical panel does have a 30-amp breaker and a wire that ends under the house dead. (not connected to anything) i want to replace this wire with a new 10-3 wire the new location, my breaker panel does not have a location for the white wire.
the house was built in 1958. how can i go by hooking up all this wires in this old panel??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-02, 11:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The first step is to determine if the panel will accommodate another 2-pole breaker. If the panel is supplied by a 3-wire cable then there should be a Neutral terminal bar for connecting the White wire of the new 30 amp. circuit. What's involved in routing a cable across the stucture from the panel to the dryer in terms of distance and exposed/concealed stuctural members?----Good Luck!!!
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-02, 11:59 AM
errodri61
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i do have a 30-amp breaker that looks like it was use for a dryer at one time.
can i use this breaker for the new location?
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-02, 03:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, you can use the breaker.
Red & Black to the breaker,White to the Ground
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-02, 03:38 PM
errodri61
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
and the ground wire? also to the ground?
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-02, 03:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-02, 03:45 PM
errodri61
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks bigbrass, i'll try that tomorrow..
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: