Auto-Ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-02, 03:42 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Auto-Ground

Does the auto-ground connection on devices (switches & outlets) meet the NEC code?
In other words, do I REALLY need to connect a green wire from the gound screw on the device to the metal box?
My metal boxes are all grounded with the Romex ground.
I realize the device will only be grounded when installed in the metal box....but I would never be working on the box unless the feed was off anyway.

Bill
-Just want to do the right thing.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-02, 05:07 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Some devices are tested and listed by UL (identified in the device instructions) to have their yolk (metal mounting part of the device) to act as a grounding means. Many devices are not listed this way and must have the ground screw from the yolk attached to the box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-02, 08:03 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Autoground

Ron,
Thanks for your response.
Still need to know if Code requires a seperate ground conductor connected to the device...or autoground is sufficient to compy.
Bill
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-02, 11:17 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the device is UL listed to utilize the yolk as the ground means to a metalic box, then no ground conductor from the recept to the box is needed.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: