Auto-Ground Re-Post


  #1  
Old 12-31-02, 08:31 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Auto-Ground Re-Post

I was hoping for a quick definative answer so I can proceed....so I am re-posting my question below:

Does the auto-ground connection on devices (switches & outlets) meet the NEC code?

The devices I am using have the frame to the ground screw connection -and are UL approved.

So...do I REALLY need to connect a green wire from the gound screw on the device to the metal box?

My metal boxes are all properly grounded with the Romex ground.

I realize the device will only be grounded when installed in the metal box....but I would never be working on the box unless the feed was off anyway.

Thanks.

Bill
-Just want to do the right thing.
 
  #2  
Old 12-31-02, 11:21 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As mentioned in the previous post, no ground needed from device to metal box if device is listed to perform the function through the yolk..
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-02, 02:34 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Autoground

Ron,
Thanks for grounding my concerns!
Bill
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: