Auto-Ground Re-Post

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-31-02, 08:31 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Auto-Ground Re-Post

I was hoping for a quick definative answer so I can proceed....so I am re-posting my question below:

Does the auto-ground connection on devices (switches & outlets) meet the NEC code?

The devices I am using have the frame to the ground screw connection -and are UL approved.

So...do I REALLY need to connect a green wire from the gound screw on the device to the metal box?

My metal boxes are all properly grounded with the Romex ground.

I realize the device will only be grounded when installed in the metal box....but I would never be working on the box unless the feed was off anyway.

Thanks.

Bill
-Just want to do the right thing.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-31-02, 11:21 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As mentioned in the previous post, no ground needed from device to metal box if device is listed to perform the function through the yolk..
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-02, 02:34 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Autoground

Ron,
Thanks for grounding my concerns!
Bill
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: