Wall outlet with a wall switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-04-03, 08:00 AM
J
jwippel
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wall outlet with a wall switch

I have a new house. I have noticed that most all of my rooms have an extra switch next to the one that operates the overhead lights.

Well I have assumed that these were for some of the wall outlets in the room. All work with the light switch off. Then I assumed that it was due to the top and bottom of the outlet still being conected with the tab. Well Like a dummy I broke these tabs to one outlet that was directly below the switch. It did not work. That outlet will not work on the top or the bottom plug now and there are several others that will not work either.

How can both top and bottom outlets not work when I have not removed the wires but just broke off the tabs.

And how can I get th eoutlets to work with the switch. I obviously thought that I new what to do but did not.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-04-03, 08:41 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dis-connect the defective receptacle. If there were 2 Black wires and 2 White wires connected to the receptacle then there are 2 Black/White cable-pairs in the box and one of these pairs must have 110 volts Black-to-White. If not, then check for a tripped circuit-breaker.When connecting the new receptacle, wire-nut together the 2 Black cable wires and an 8" Black lead for the receptacle connection. Ditto the White wires. Connecting the cable wires together with a wire-nut eliminates a "break" in the circuit that could occur when the cable wires terminate on a receptacle.-----Good Luck!!!!
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-03, 12:23 PM
J
jwippel
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks.

I did already know this though. What I am confused about is how the switch figures into the equation
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-03, 01:19 PM
H
hotarc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Could be for another hot wire in the overhead box. So you could run a ceiling fan/light kit with the wall switches.
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-03, 02:45 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with hotarc. The rooms are likely prewired for ceiling fans. Go buy new receptacles to replace the ones you ruined. Getting the receptacles to be switched will require new cable in the wall. Let us know if you're willing to go that far.
 
  #6  
Old 01-05-03, 05:54 PM
R
RayII
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally posted by hotarc
Could be for another hot wire in the overhead box. So you could run a ceiling fan/light kit with the wall switches.
Bingo, this is a standard practice for new homes if wired by a competent company. After all, their ad/sticker is likely on the inside of your breaker box.

We did something similiar, we ran 14-3 romex to light boxes in bedrooms, should the need arise to wire up a light fan combo.
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-03, 06:28 AM
J
jwippel
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks all for the advise.

That is what they did. There are two sets of wires going to the light fixture.

Again Thanks Everyone for the help
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: