Loose breaker / now it wont turn on?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-03, 06:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Loose breaker / now it wont turn on?

In order to paint the ceiling in my kitchen, I needed to remove an old ceiling fan.

Long story short, when I went down to shut off breakers to figure out which one the fan/light was on, one of the breakers I touched was "loose" -- eg it moved away from what ever it is connected to one the bottom. I pushed it back down, but now it keeps tripping when I try to turn it on.

It is a 15 amp, normal width if this helps. It feeds power to the lights in a powder room and a dining room chandelier. (yes, not quite current code!)

A procedure to fix would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-03, 06:57 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You'll have to open the panel and see what the problem is. It's rare that a breaker would "desintegrate", I'm guessing that something got loose.
What type of breakers? What brand?
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-03, 07:56 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breakers that have tripped too many times are shot. Could even be the wrong breaker for the panel. In either case, it's probably time to replace it.

BTW, the situation you mention is not a code violation, even today's code.
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-03, 08:14 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Curiousity on my part what manufacturer is the breaker and who made the panel?
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-03, 09:22 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the speedy replies guys!

AFAIK - the reason I thought I had a code issue was that the powder room is powered off this circuit (outlet, fan, and separate light) as well as the dining room chandelier.

I will post back with the brand of the panel box and breaker tonight after I go back and look at it. I had the cover off at the time I was shutting off the breaker if that makes any difference.

If I wanted to remove the breaker, the procedure would be to shut off the main 100A breaker and then pull out the offender and replace, right? Can I leave the space empty and turn on the power (then go to HD to buy a new breaker)

Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-03, 10:15 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,391
Received 203 Votes on 179 Posts
You can leave the space empty. Put a wire nut on the wire to prevent it from touching anything in the panel. Put a piece of tape over the hole to anyone from poking something into the panel.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: