Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

3 way switch, multiple fixtures, dimmers, one circuit breaker

3 way switch, multiple fixtures, dimmers, one circuit breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-07-03, 06:52 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3 way switch, multiple fixtures, dimmers, one circuit breaker

Hello all. I'm hoping I may be able to get some answers here. This is my dilemma, I will describe it best I can. I'm putting a drop cieling in my basement along with recessed lighting. It will involve 3 way switches and dimmers. Here goes......I currently have a switch that controls a light at the top of my stairwell and a light in the basement. I want to move the light in the basement and add a switch in the basement so that the lights can be turned off/on from the basement. I'm not sure whether the power goes to the switch or the light. How can I find out? What would be the best route to take? I will also be adding 3 sets of lights, 2 sets controlled by dimmers, 1 set controlled with a single switch. Is it possible to put these all on the same circuit, and if so, how do I continue the power? If you need more info please don't hesitate to email me....Thank you very much...

Ron
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-03, 07:02 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
First, look in the switch box at the top of the stairs. Tell us everything you see: all the cables, all the wires, and all the connections (whether or not connected to the switch).

Most likely you will need to run a new 14/3 cable from the existing switch to where you want the new switch (no matter where the power comes in).

Yes, it's very easily possible to put all those on the same new circuit. If you're talking about adding to an existing circuit, you'll need to analyze what's already on that circuit now (but it's probably still okay).

How to do it depends on a lot of factors not in evidence. Are there any unswitched receptacles currently in that basement? Or are there a lot of cables running around on the ceiling? How many lights in a "set" and what wattage bulbs are we talking about? Are you also going to add any receptacles?
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-03, 07:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
John, just wanted to say WOW, that was quick, thanks. I will get back as soon as I have the answers to your questions......Time for bed now tho.........

Ron
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: