Circuit Breaker general info

Old 01-16-03, 03:30 PM
T
Thuff
Visiting Guest
Circuit Breaker general info

Here's the application:

I am making test cords for service techs to jump start 1/2 and 1/3 refridgeration compressors. This is to rule out electrical problems leading to the compressors. The cords we used to use had a fast blow fuse in the hot line in case the compressor windings shorted to ground or the piston is locked up causing increased amp draw. These cords are hard to find now a days.

I have the bright idea to use circuit breakers instead of fuses but am unsure if the breaker can be made to function the same. I have no knowledge of home electrical applications.

Does a circuit breaker trip by increased amps across the bottom and top poles? There is no grounding through the cord.

Any info on how the breaker trips would be welcomed.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-03, 06:11 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A circuit breaker will detect an overcurrent condition in the circuit based on the amperage of the circuit breaker you choose. (Of course you want the circuit breaker's amperage to be the weakest link in your circuit that is made up of the 1) load, 2) the wiring and the 3) circuit "breaker". Most circuit breakers operate (or trip) using a pre-set (amperage) magnetic sensor inside the breaker's housing, while others use both thermal (heat) and magnetic (amperage) sensors.