Wire removal from breaker?


  #1  
Old 01-20-03, 11:09 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 145
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wire removal from breaker?

If I wanted to disconnect the wires leading from a 20A breaker (that is turned off), do I just need to disconnect the Hot and then the neutral and ground?

The reason I ask is b/c I removed the wiring in my addition that used to connect to 220V baseboard heaters, and I want to remove the wiring all the way back to the panel which is an off-peak panel that doesn't have a "main breaker" that I can trip - just 2 20a double pole breakers. I have the breakers switched off and I figured I could just remove the wires.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 01-20-03, 11:15 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,054
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
You can exactly as you decribed. You should pull the wire completely out of the panel and put a plug in the hole.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-03, 11:57 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 145
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks, one more ?

Thanks for the quick answer Joed!

If I wanted to add more breakers to that panel, since it doesn't have a main breaker, would I add the breaker and then connect wiring and then turn on?

Is there any guidance somewhere on the number of tandem breakers that can be installed in a Murray main panel? It is 100 amp service, and I want to upgrade a few of the single 15s to dual in order to power my new circuits.

thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-03, 04:30 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,054
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
I would add the breaker then attach the wire. The number of breakers is determined by your panel. It should have a label stating the max number of breakers. It must also be reated to accept tandem breakers. Although they fit some panels are not rated for tandem breakers. The max number of breakers you can put in any panel is 42.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-03, 11:43 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 100
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Isn't there also a max. (6?) number of breakers you can have in a panel without a main? Also you might want to turn off the breaker in the main panel that feeds the one you're working on, then you wont be working in a live panel.
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-03, 05:37 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 145
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies.

There isn't a shut off for the panel that I needed to pull the wires from -- it is a sepparate off-peak service panel. There might be a shut-off outside, but not on the panel that I could find.

Joed-

As for number of breakers, I know that the panel has a max, but I am wondering if there is a limit on # of tandem breakers - eg X number of _total_ breakers = # regular breakers plus # of tandem.

There are a few in the panel now, so I guess a 2-3 more wont hurt much.
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-03, 06:29 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,054
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
I don't know for sure but I think it is based on the panel manufacturer's specs for that panel.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: