GFCI outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-03, 01:00 PM
S
simcikj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GFCI outlet

I have a ground fault circuit interrupt outlet in my family room that I was told by the previous owner has wired to it the powder room box (2 light switches for light & exhaust fan and a double outlet) located in the main entrance hallway, as well as, an outlet in my master bath on the 2nd floor. When I first moved into the house the powder room electricals worked fine and always had power. Same with the outlet in the MBR bath. Recently though, the power for the powder room switches and outlets and the MBR outlet has cut off. I tried to reset the GFCI and it reset itself OK, but that did not restore power to the powder room or the outlet in the MBR bath. Thinking that the GFCI had gone bad I replaced it with a new one (20 AMP 125 volt I think). It also resets itself just fine but no luck with restoring power to the areas in question. The outlet at the GFCI works fine as I have a cordless phone and a floor lamp plugged in there. How can I go about determining what may be causing the loss of power to the powder room and the MBR bath outlet assuming they are indeed tied to the GFCI. The only thing I did over the last year was replaced the light fixture in the powder room with a similar but updated unit. It was just a strip light with 5-40 watt clear round bulbs. It worked fine after installing it and up until the power was lost to the room. Am I looking in the right direction?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-03, 01:06 PM
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Northeastern NC On The Albemarle Sound
Posts: 10,952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

Are you absolutely certain that there isn't another GFCI on that circuit? Even in a opposite wall? Exterior wall?
I trust that you have 12/2wg wiring with that new 20 amp GFCI.
Mike
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-03, 01:11 PM
S
simcikj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm pretty sure there is not another GFCI, although I'm not positive. I will double check on your advice. The GFCI I replaced is exactly the same specs as the old one and the wire I assume is what you say. I didn't change anything with the wire. It (power to the rooms mentioned) worked fine for a long time but now has cut off and I cannot get it to restore. Any other tips on troubleshooting the cause??
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-03, 01:17 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could you tell us in what year your house was built?
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-03, 01:25 PM
S
simcikj
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The house is 18 years old.
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-03, 05:43 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Look for another GFCI. Try the garage behind that sheet of plywood or the soccer gear storage first. Then try the basement.

Buy an $8 outlet tester at Home Depot. Plug it into a dead outlet and tell us what it says.

Read this too.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: