outlet burning plugs

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-03, 02:46 PM
J
jhevey
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
outlet burning plugs

I have an outlet in my bathroom with a switch and one outlet. It has three wires running to it. The problem is that everything I plug into it starts to melt and look burnt. Any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-03, 03:07 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you just install this? I don't think you have enough wires for a receptacle here. Can you give us more info?
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-03, 03:10 PM
J
jhevey
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This outlet has been in place since I moved in. It is an older house that was converted to 3 apartments.
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-03, 04:27 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,379
Received 199 Votes on 176 Posts
Could be the springs in the recepticle are loose and not making good contact with the devices being plugged in. Try replacing the device. Also if the wiring is via back stab connecton use the screws. Back stabs are notorious for poor connections.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-03, 04:50 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turn off the breaker. Remove the screws holding this device or devices (not sure from your post) to the box. Gently pull it (them) out of the box without disconnecting any wires. Tell us everything you see.
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-03, 05:10 PM
Kooter's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 162
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I suspect he has a combination-type device (switch with a single receptacle on the same frame). The hot side of the receptacle also feeds one side of the switch (which is wire #1), neutral feeds the other silver side of the receptacle (which is wire #2) and then another wire feeds whatever the switch controls (which is wire #3). And the neutral wire [for whatever the switch controls] is not in the box where this combination-type device is located...and there is no ground because the wiring is old.

Combination-type device: http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0...1.MZZZZZZZ.jpg

Kooter
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-03, 04:13 PM
J
jhevey
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Kooter describes it right. I put a new switch on and so far so good . But I am hoping that this is the cause of the problem. Thanks for the help.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: