Installing a Dimmer Switch in an Old Home

Old 02-05-03, 01:06 PM
planckZero
Visiting Guest
Installing a Dimmer Switch in an Old Home

I bought some dimmer switches which have two wires for the circuit and a separate ground wire. My home is quite old and there is no ground wire available.

Is it ok to install these switches and just use a wire cap on the wire that would normally go to ground, or should I buy switches that don't have the ground wire?

--

Sponsored Links
Old 02-05-03, 02:49 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does your house have BX cable or knob and wire?

Old 02-05-03, 02:58 PM
planckZero
Visiting Guest
Hmmm... I have little experience with home wiring, so I am not exactly sure what you are asking me.

The house has one fuse box with 4 fuses that control everything. One fuse for most of the lights, one for most of the (two prong) outlets, etc....

When I removed the light switch that was already installed, I saw that it only had two wires.

Old 02-05-03, 03:02 PM
planckZero
Visiting Guest
Ahh.. an internet search shows me that BX cable refers to armored cable.

Well, the wiring attached to the previous switch has a thick cloth like insulation around it, if that helps.

Old 02-05-03, 03:14 PM
sounds like old RHW cloth extruded thru tar. really brittle stuff as it ages. are you sure there isn't a bare wire screwed into the back of the box??? that will be your ground. if this wire is there, you could just do the same w/ the ground from the switch!

Old 02-05-03, 03:32 PM
planckZero
Visiting Guest
I will definitely look more carefully for a ground when I get home today.

I suppose my real question is: if there isn't, is it still safe to install the switch with the ground wire from the switch capped, or do I need a different model for the wiring I have?

Old 02-05-03, 03:39 PM