running board in soffit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-15-03, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 146
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
running board in soffit?

I'm running some wires in a soffit I built around some ductwork. The most convenient place to run the wire in there is up against the joists. Do I have to use a running board in there, or can I just run the wire right up across the joists? Thanks...

Brian
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-15-03, 10:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are they protected? Or subject to injury? If they cant be injured you probably dont need a board. You said, up against, then across. Do you mean on top of joists? You can lay it on top.
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-03, 07:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 146
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They would be stapled to the bottom of the joists, perpendicular to the joists. There's clear space on both sides and below the wiring, and everything that'll be in there is already in there (I won't be adding anything else that could damage the wiring). It just didn't make sense to me to put a running board in there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: