Replacing old electrical outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-18-03, 07:49 AM
adamb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Replacing old electrical outlet

Hello,

About 3 years ago we purchased a 1950 cape. I noticed in one of the rooms that there is a funky looking outlet. Here's what it looks like:

------ ------
()

()

I can only assume that this is original hardware. Any suggestions on (a) what type of outlet this is? and (b) How to go about replacing it?

Big thanks...these forums are a life-saver!

Adam

(The circles should be centered between the lines in the above picture...but they won't adjust in this post)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-18-03, 06:57 PM
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Taking a stab at it, It sounds like it is a 240v plug. Maybe next to a window for an A/C unit ?

Is there something you plug into it, or are you trying to get 120v there, for more outlets in the area ?

Here is a nema chart so you can find the style of outlet you have and let us know. Thanks...

Nema Chart

 

Last edited by aphares; 02-18-03 at 08:18 PM.
  #3  
Old 02-19-03, 04:55 AM
adamb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for posting the link. I took a look at the chart and although I don't see a perfect match to what I see...it looks similar to the images in row 6 (250V)...specifically the B-29.

I don't know if it makes any difference but my outlet is flipped the other way than shows in the image.

You hit the nail on the head. The outlet is very close to a window so I guess we can assume it's for an old AC unit.

Basically, what I'm trying to do is replace it with a 125V unit (like the rest of the outlets throughout the house) with 2 receptacles on it. It's in our baby room (we're expecting in 7 weeks) so I need to change it fast!

Any pointers on step by step instructions?
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-03, 01:36 PM
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok, Find the breaker that it is on, Should be a two pole breaker, or if you have fuses, might be one block of two fuses together. Let us know what size breaker of fuses it is, And if you can let us know what size wire, and what colors are in the box, or hooked to the power source. Also if you shut it off does it shut anything else you know of.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 02-20-03, 05:17 AM
adamb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Art,

I'll take a look at everything you mentioned below on Saturday and let you know what I find.

Thanks again.

Adam
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes