humming breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-03, 07:38 PM
jkortas
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
humming breaker

I was by my panel this evening and i noticed that there was a humming sound that i hadn't ever noticed before. I reset one breaker (one that blows more frequently than any other), and the humming went away. I checked a few hours later and there is still no humming. Do i need to be concerned about this?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-03, 11:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you are frequently blowing a breaker something is wrong. It is tripping because of a reason. How much load is on it? I never have breakers trip and you shouldnt either.
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-03, 04:21 AM
jkortas
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
it 's not as wrong as you might think. i live in a old house that has some crazy circuits. this particular one is tripping because the load of 15 amps is being reached. There are too many things into it (lights on 3 floors, a bathroom - hair dryer is the biggest culprit).


Anyone have any suggestions about the humming breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-03, 06:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"it 's not as wrong as you might think. I live in a old house that has some crazy circuits"

Obviously it is causeing a problem. It isnt just the breaker that is the problem now, it is the load on it. I would run a new circuit to the bathroom just for a recepticle and disconnect that part of the exixting one. That is overloaded and a fire waiting to happen if there ever was one. Besides the breaker it is putting the maximum strain on all the old connections in junction boxes. No way would I be using the hair dryer until it was upgraded. Then replace the breaker that was causing the problem as it is stressed from being continiously overloaded.
 
  #5  
Old 02-25-03, 08:50 AM
jkortas
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks,

I agree, it looks like this is going to have to be bumped up on my projects list. appreciate the insight.
 
  #6  
Old 02-25-03, 10:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a few known higher loads which would simulate a hair dryer and I have a direct wire from the panel to the recept for them. No connectors in them. That is a good thing for places like a bath where that is happn,, hair dryers and curling iron going on at the same time. When I wire a home I give that recept its own circuit. There are also several codes pertaining to wiring bathrooms and that covers most of them when that is done. GFCI also.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: