No power to receptacle

Old 03-03-03, 10:02 PM
N
nahakka
Visiting Guest
No power to receptacle

I am very new to wiring and have been trying to get power to my receptacle on the ceiling of my garage. This was already prewire but does not have any power on the receptacle. Here is the wiring that I have in my garage:

The receptable is at the end of the run and the wire is coming from the fluorescent ceiling light (rapid-start I think).
The wire that comes into the fluorescent light has 4 wires: red,black,white, and ground. There is one wire going out to the receptacle that has three wires: black, white, and ground.

On the Fluorescent ceiling light:

- both black wire is twisted together(pigtailed?)
- both ground wire is twisted together.
- ballast white wire to both white wire(pigtailed?)
- ballast black wire to red wire coming in

On the Receptacle side:

Black wire to brass screw
White wire to silver screw
Ground is to the green (ground) screw

I have a light switch that turns on the fluorescent light, and it works fine.

I tested the wires going to the receptacle and the black is not hot.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-03-03, 10:28 PM
H
Hobo5803
Visiting Guest
nopower to receptable

I admit I am a little confused by this one. The black, red, white and ground sounds like a 3 conductor cable normally used for 3 way switches. Can you turn the light on from 2 different locations?

Old 03-03-03, 10:36 PM
N
nahakka
Visiting Guest
I could only turn the garage light from one location. But it looks like the wiring is probably in the connected to the same circuit as my laundry room which does have two locations to turn on its light. This is because there is three switches in my laundry room: one for the laundry room light, one for the garage, and the other one for my outside light (all of this is on the same switch)

Old 03-04-03, 04:21 AM
H
Hobo5803
Visiting Guest
receptable in garage