door bell problems?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-03, 05:51 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: middleboro,ma
Posts: 281
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question door bell problems?

Hi,
I had written in this fourum awhile ago about a door bell problem I am having.
I own a three family home in Mass.My tennant called and said thier door bell hasn't been working.(we recently bought this house).
when I went to take a look at it,I found its looks like a small intercom box near the door.It has three door bells on it,and a small speaker also all in one unit.
I opened the unit,and found no loose wires.I also sprayed quick drying contact cleaner on all the buttons.It still doesn't work.I know the 2nd and third floor door bell don't work,Iam not sure yet about the first floor?
The speaker does seem to work....
The tennants said it seemed to act up around the time the entry door was replaced next to it?
Do you think its the unit or a wiring problem?the three buttons
all have wires going to them.the bottom has two wires,and I believe the others each have one soldered wire to it?
Is there any way to tell if its the unit or the wiring?
I can probably handle replacing the unit if its just that,or would you call an electrician for this?Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-08-03, 07:48 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there a label on the plate or box that indentifies the company that manufactured this product and what is the outside signalling- device at the front door.?----Would a simple push-button at the front door that operated a chime inside be practical or does the occupant need to "communicate" with person who is calling?--Please reply--thanks.
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-03, 08:06 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: middleboro,ma
Posts: 281
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Door bell problem

I believe its brand name is "Greystone"?Its made I think by G.E.
Yes I would like the same set-up if possible,with the speaker set-up.
I just don't know if its the buttons or in the wiring?Would it be worth trying to replace this unit before calling an electrician?Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-03, 08:35 AM
H
hotarc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If the unit started giving you trouble after the entry door was replaced, you might suspect a stray nail or screw damaged the wiring. If if can't be easily accessed, you might want to consider wireless door chimes. They are cheap, about $15, and very easy to install.
 
  #5  
Old 03-08-03, 08:53 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I suggest you submit your problem to the "Electronic Alarms and Security Devices" Section of this Forum. Aquire as much information as possible on this product before you summon someone to investige the problem and to determine if re-placement units are availalable. Possibly the existing cables would allow a different type of system to be installed, but the "Alarm" boys are best qualified to adress your problem-----Good Luck!!!!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: