Avg price of 15 and or 20 installed


  #1  
Old 03-10-03, 08:58 AM
jpc1963
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Avg price of 15 and or 20 installed

Hi,
I'm from NJ and was wondering what a typical price of having a 15amp and a 20amp tandem breaker installed would be. It is being installed in a basement with no obstructions (sheetrock, etc..)

Thanks
Joe
 
  #2  
Old 03-10-03, 09:43 AM
lestrician
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If you're talking about just a breaker, that's one thing. Question is, what do plan on having on this breaker?
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-03, 10:01 AM
jpc1963
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Just the breakers ...

I just need the breakers done. I am doing the wiring for lights and switches.

Thanks
Joe
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-03, 10:18 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Now is as good as time as any to learn. Do you have a wiring book? Get a good flashlight and rig it up so its easy to work. Turn off the main, snap the old breaker out and install the new one. Some panels have special places for them, mostly near the bottom, some doesnt matter. Install it like the others. Maybe you can find a bud to help that has done it before.
 
  #5  
Old 03-10-03, 10:47 AM
jpc1963
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I am not replacing an old one. I need about 4 new ones installed.
I'm kind of leary about going into the box.

Joe
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-03, 11:04 AM
lestrician
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
As long as you have the main turned off, and you're careful, and you read about it, you really shouldn't have any trouble. But if you are scared, don't do it, get an electrician, pay him/her 50+ dollars an hour, and I'm sure any electrician would be more than happy to take your money.
 
  #7  
Old 03-10-03, 11:49 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You are correct to be cautions. Installing a breaker is no more difficult than installing a receptacle. But it is more dangerous. There have been quite a number of posters here who seem to know very little about electicity who have replaced their own breakers and lived (which scares the hell out of me).
 
  #8  
Old 03-10-03, 03:49 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,059
Received 521 Upvotes on 426 Posts
Installing 4 breakers is about a 15minute job. It should be just a basic 1/2hr service call charge. Call and ask some local electrcians for a rate. Don't base their quotes on 15 minutes. It also takes them time drive to and from your house that they still pay their employees.
 
  #9  
Old 03-12-03, 12:07 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 475
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm assuming the electrician will have to connect your wiring into the panel as well. Even with that, the standard one-hour service call should take of it. Is the panel your main service panel or a subpanel? If it's a subpanel, you can turn off the breaker in the main panel that feeds the subpanel and work in complete safety (as long as someone doesn't turn the breaker back on as you are working) provided you have enough light (lantern) to do the job. All you will need other than the breakers are a couple of 1/2" (3/8" trade size - fit into a 1/2" knockout) romex connectors.
 
  #10  
Old 03-12-03, 04:04 PM
RickJ6956
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
John Nelson wrote
There have been quite a number of posters here who seem to know very little about electicity who have replaced their own breakers and lived (which scares the hell out of me).
Off-topic: When I was swapping breakers during the remodels, I gave my wife a 4-foot-long chunk of 2x4 and told her that if I started to convulse, she should use the 2x4 to break my arms.

You should have seen her eyes when she realized I was serious!

Fortunately for me (and unfortunately for those of you who are reading this), I lived through it without the screwdrvier slipping off the screw.
 
  #11  
Old 03-18-03, 01:57 PM
jpc1963
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well, I had an electrician put in a sub panel for me (40amp with 8/3 wire) for $175. I feel much better not having to go into the mail panel now.


Thanks for all your help !

Joe
 
  #12  
Old 03-18-03, 01:57 PM
jpc1963
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
That would be MAIN panel not mail panel
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: