Basement Wiring Questions


  #1  
Old 03-11-03, 07:58 AM
mikegerard
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Basement Wiring Questions

I want to wire some additional outlets in the basement of a house built in 2001. The basement is unfinished with concrete block walls. There are currently 3 outlets in the floor joists for the first floor.

I would like to add some outlets along the walls of the basement.
I would have several outlets on each circuit, starting with a GFCI.

My questions are:
1) How many outlets can I put on one circuit? From a wiring perspective I think two circuits from the breaker box would be easiest.
2) What type of protection does the electrical wire need? Since this is a basement I think I need to have some type of conduit to make sure that the wire does not get wet.
3) Can I mount the electrical outlet boxes to the concrete block wall? My wiring experience is limited to mounting to studs.
4) Are there any other special considerations I need to take because this is a basement?

Thanks in advance,
Mike
 
  #2  
Old 03-11-03, 09:40 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,079
Received 531 Upvotes on 435 Posts
1. There is no code restriction on how many outlets you can have. It depends on what you intend to use the outlets for.
2. You don't need conduit unless you local codes require it(Chicago) or this is a storage area where damage may occur.
3. I think you can mount to the wall. I would fasten a 1x4 to the wall and mount to that. You can use staples to hold the wire to the 1x4.
4. Gfci is required if this is unfinished basement. You already said you have that.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-03, 02:56 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
1. As Joe says, the NEC has no limit. However, some local areas do. Call your building department.

2. You don't need conduit if you provide some other form of protection (e.g., studs). But you do need conduit if you are just running the wiring down the block walls.

3. Yes.

4. Not much special due to the basement (other than GFCI as Joe said). But of course, you must follow the hundreds of codes that would apply upstairs too.
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-03, 11:13 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 475
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The nicest installation would be done with 1/2" EMT, 1/2" EMT straps, 4" square boxes, and 4" square raised receptacle covers. Use one 10' stick of the EMT at each location. Cut it to length and deburr the cut with the edge of a screwdriver tip. Put a 1/2" EMT set-screw connector on the end of the conduit to act as a bushing. If possible, bend an offset at the box end so the conduit will remain snug to the wall all the way up. If no offset, you can use "stand-off" straps or spacers of some sort on the wall. Use a 1/2" EMT set-screw connector installed into a 1/2" knockout hole at the box. Mount 4" box to wall with redhead anchors. Drill extra hole behind ground screw location. Install 12 gauge romex from panel to each receptacle on the circuit. Easiest if you don't strap the conduit to the wall before running wire through conduit. You will "daisy-chain" one wire in and one wire out for the entire circuit. Romex should be run through drilled holes in ceiling joists (not in middle third of joist span. Drill line of holes in same direction for ease in pulling wire. Strap conduits and install receptacles, making sure to connect ground wire to box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: