Outdoor Lights


  #1  
Old 03-17-03, 03:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Outdoor Lights

I have this problem and it's driving me nuts!!!!! I have these 2 outdoor lights, one over my porch and one over my garage. Both are controlled by a switch from my house. they never work right. Sometimes both go on...sometimes just one or the other go on. I always have to switch the switch in these crazy combinations and I can't figure it out. Now, the one over my door refuses to work no matter what I do. This happened once before and I shut all the power in the house and it reset them, but now that doesn't even work. Pleae help!!!!!!!!!
 
  #2  
Old 03-17-03, 04:40 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Are both these lights on the same switch? Do the lights have movement or light sensors? If the answer to both is yes, then that's your problem. Almost all of these lights have installation instructions telling you not to put multiple ones on the same switch for exactly the reasons you've just discovered.

If the answer to either question is no, ignore my post.
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-03, 09:06 AM
solr
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You probably have corroded sockets which are making intemittant contact depending on moisture and temperature. Take the bulbs out and check for corrosion.
 

Last edited by solr; 03-18-03 at 05:47 PM.
  #4  
Old 03-18-03, 03:22 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes the lights are on the same switch and yes they have motion sensors. But there is nothing in the instructions that says anything against multiple lights. So what do I do? Should I shut one of the sensors off?
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-03, 04:28 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Dou you want them to work with the sensors? If so, turn them off for 5 mins then turn the switch on and leave it on, flipping it back and forth is what is messing you up. In the one that doesnt work at all check the bulbs.
 
  #6  
Old 03-19-03, 06:34 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Turn the light switch off in the house, or on the actual light? Because I did have the light switch off in the house before.
 
  #7  
Old 03-20-03, 05:09 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,046
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
Originally posted by Science
Turn the light switch off in the house, or on the actual light? Because I did have the light switch off in the house before.
How many light switches do have on this setup?
What do they control? I thought you had one switch that was controlling both lights. Now it sounds like you have more than one switch.
 
  #8  
Old 03-21-03, 01:14 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No...there is just one light switch inside the house controlling both lights. I was talking about the little switches on the bottom of the actual lights.
 
  #9  
Old 03-21-03, 01:29 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 475
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Did you install these fixtures yourself? Which one is closest to the switch? You may have a shoddy connection at your splice at the first fixture which is creating an intermitent problem. If you installed the sensor over or too close to the bulbs the heat can cause problems. How old are the fixtures? If not too old, then you shouldn't have corrosion problems.

I would check the connections on the switch itself and at the closest fixture to the switch. A loose wire could be causing all your problems. Be sure to check your neutral connection at the switch as well as the wires on the switch itself.
 
  #10  
Old 03-23-03, 02:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 70
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The connectins seem fine. I had an electrician install them about a year ago. It still doesn't work.
 
  #11  
Old 03-24-03, 04:26 AM
Sparksone42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Given that these lights are motion sensor lights they will act this way, if for some reason they have been turned on and off independently of each other.
To correct your problem, turn on the switch inside of the house. Go to each light and put the switch on the light in the TEST position. Walktest each light and make sure that they are operating correctly while in the test position. Once this is done switch each light back to it's normal setting and allow them to reset. Once they have gone out then you can go back inside and use the inside switch.
Keep in mind that most of these types of fixtures have an override setting, by turning the power off for about ten seconds and then turning it back on you can override the motion sensors and the lights should stay on as long as the switch is on. To put them back on motion sensor just turn the switch off for ten seconds and then back on again.

Hope this helps.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: