4 doorbells, one door--? transformer


  #1  
Old 04-03-03, 11:22 AM
belmontram
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
4 doorbells, one door--? transformer

Read posts from others, and saw that I will need a larger than normal transformer. I want to add a door buzzer that will sound in 4 rooms. What size transformer will I need? thanks
 
  #2  
Old 04-03-03, 04:04 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
That depends on the ratings onthe buzzers. Look for a watts, VA or amps rating on the buzzers. Add them up and get a transformer at least 25% larger.
 
  #3  
Old 04-03-03, 06:40 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just bought another button as I need to add one, do you just wire it on parrallel?
 
  #4  
Old 04-03-03, 07:14 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 130
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sberry,

Yes, parallel to the other switch. The new switch will still be in series with the load.
 
  #5  
Old 04-04-03, 04:33 AM
RickJ6956
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
sberry,
If you're using one button on the front door and the other paralleled at the back door, you'll be constantly looking at both every time it rings. The bell unit might already have separate connections for front & back.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: