Help needed with Cutler-Hammer breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-03, 07:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Help needed with Cutler-Hammer breaker

I am adding a circuit for a microwave. I have run 12 guage wire and will be using a 20 amp breaker. The breakers in my box are Cutler Hammer. I looked at one of the other 20 amp breakers in the box, and it said class CTL, type CH. I found these at Home Depot. The problem is that the metal part that snaps onto the power bar doesn't seem wide enough to snap onto the part it is supposed to. Did I get the wrong size somehow? It sure seems like its the right kind. Do I need to stretch the opening on the breaker with a screwdriver before installing? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-03, 08:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Like many manufacturers (e.g., SquareD), Cutler Hammer makes more than one kind of panel and more than one kind of breaker. All of their breakers are not compatible with all of their panels.

Do not modify the breaker with your screwdriver. Consult the label in your panel, or call the manufacturer, for compatibility information.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-03, 07:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 525
Believe the Cutler Hammer CH breakers have a tan colored handle. Cutler Hammer also sells a BR breaker (formerly Bryant) that has a black handle. Did you get the right breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-03, 07:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Originally posted by mcjunk
Believe the Cutler Hammer CH breakers have a tan colored handle. Cutler Hammer also sells a BR breaker (formerly Bryant) that has a black handle. Did you get the right breaker?
The breaker that I bought at HD looks just like the other ones in the box. It just seems like the little metal "mouth" on the new breaker doesn't open wide enough to snap onto the bus bar "tooth". The tooth is a rectangular shaped one.
 
  #5  
Old 04-08-03, 08:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Sounds like you may just need to push harder.
 
  #6  
Old 04-08-03, 08:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 68
Originally posted by John Nelson
Sounds like you may just need to push harder.
I just get a little nervous when you have to push too hard in this area. I've done breakers before, and never run into this.
 
  #7  
Old 04-08-03, 07:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 123
I bought 2 20-amp Cutler Hammer breakers couple days ago. I could only install one. The gap of the other one was too big such that it didnt hold on to the hot bar. I exchanged it for one that had a correct gap. I suggest you return it for a good one. I now look at the gap to see if it is about right before I take it to the counter.
 
  #8  
Old 04-10-03, 07:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 68
OK, I got it to work. I took one of the existing breakers and moved it to the open spot. Then I took my new breaker and installed it where the other one was. I am all set now. I am going to have the city electrical inspector come tomorrow to bless my work before I mud up the drywall.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes