Service Size

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-11-03, 02:45 AM
WeldGod's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Service Size

Ok, I have another one. The service the house I am considering is 100AMP, I really need a 200AMP or higher service. How would I convert it to at least 200AMPís? I prefer to do this myself. It would end up rewiring most of the house any way to suit my data/voice needs. Where do I find a copy of the electric codes online? What are the rules applying to doing your own electrical work? I have added circuits, breakers, boxes and other stuff all in the past but I donít know if I was really was allowed to do under code. Do I have to get all of that inspected before I sell my current house? The box looks like the power company did the work because I can get there box seal/locks to but on after I am done. Is that all I need?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-11-03, 05:51 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is no online version of codes, just snippets in web sites like this one.
Depending on you local building dept, you may or may not be permitted to perform your own service upgrade.
 
  #3  
Old 04-11-03, 06:26 AM
lestrician
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
When you sell your current house, an inspector will come, and say whether the electrical is in good, fair, or poor condition basically, give that infor to the buyer, and let the buyer decide what to do with that info. Depending on where you are in Texas it may or may not have been a code violation without a permit, and different cities w/in Texas all have different rules. I wouldn't worry about it in hindsight, I just wouldn't admit to doing the work if the inspector has a problem with it. As far as wiring a 200amp service. First find out from the city whether you're even allowed to do it... installing breakers is one thing, changing your main is another. Then, if they allow you, come back here and we'll try to help. It will probably be a lot of reading, you will most likely have to buy some books, etc. And in the end, it might actually be cheaper to hire an electrician for that part, but then maybe not.
 
  #4  
Old 04-11-03, 12:06 PM
texsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Weldgod,
I'm ass-u-mi ng from your title that the upgrade to a 200 amp service on your new house has to do with operating welding machines. Most jurisdictions in our great state ( I'm in Spring,just to the north of Houston )will allow the homeowner to do his or her own work if it is their permanent residence and not their rental property. In Texas, once you are outside the city limits, it's a free-for-all and anyone can do whatever the h*ll they please.

There are online calculators to help you figure out what your servce size will need to be. I'll look one up and post it for you.

Heres one calculator......... http://www.nfpa.org/nec/Resources/Ca...s/dwelling.asp
 

Last edited by texsparky; 04-11-03 at 01:14 PM.
  #5  
Old 04-11-03, 01:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey bud,, Are you going to weld from that panel and is it going to feed the garage too?
 
  #6  
Old 04-11-03, 11:21 PM
WeldGod's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 616
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I will end up running the shop and the house of the same main. I figured that 200 will cover the house I donít know how much extra I will need for the shop. I have run a separate circuit off my current main to supply an addition to the house, is that generally allowed? Like I said before I put a power company lock on the box so they will think they did it I guess. I just to give you an idea of what I want to run it is a 4 bed room house, with 2 Ĺ baths and 2 living areas. I will need to run a 400amp welder, a plasma cutter, and a 15HP 3 phase compressor that will run off of 230 or 460, plus a bunch of other stuff. So sense this new hose is out side the city limits I can do what ever I feel like with in reason.
 
  #7  
Old 04-12-03, 06:13 AM
texsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

So sense this new hose is out side the city limits I can do what ever I feel like with in reason.
Let's keep the installation(s) safe and up to code. Shortcuts are
not worth dying for. Would you tackweld a trailer tongue and then pull it down the highway at 70 MPH ?
 
  #8  
Old 04-12-03, 08:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The meter is theirs, ( the poco) and the rest of the electric is yours. I take it you are talking a subfed panel feeding an addition. This is really quite a project with the additions. I would think you have friends that are electricians and could get a little help. I am not sure what welder you are talking abbout but most machines that size, especially transformer styles require 100A service. You should look and see if there is 3Ph availiable to start with. Your electric company (poco) isnt going to like the 15 hp starting rural or residential. I would go to 400 A service and use 2 200's in parallel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: