What size Fuse panel for new garage?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-14-03, 11:41 PM
aerosigns
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
What size Fuse panel for new garage?

I have just added an attached garage. I want to run a secondary fuse panel off the main fuse box. (I don't want to have a seperate meter on the garage.)

I plan on 110 & 220. 220 uses could/will be air compresssor, A/C, welder, and an electric oven for powder coating auto parts. Of course I won't be using all of these at the same time, but it is possible for a couple of them at once.

110 uses will be outlets, shop lighting, Ceiling fans, door lighting.

Exactly what fuse panel should I get so that I can cover everything easily, and allow for any future expansion?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-03, 07:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are probably going to want a 20 space main lug panel. I like to keep same brand as the house if I can. Feed it with a 100 A breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-03, 08:06 AM
hotarc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Without knowing the exact power requirements for the items you have mentioned, it is hard to say specifically what size you will need. Air conditioners, welders, and electric ovens come in all sizes.

What exactly will be plugged into the 120V outlets? How much lighting do you plan on having? When you say "fuse panel" do you really mean circuit breakers? What size is your exisiting electrical service? Are there open spaces in the panel? How far is your main service panel from the proposed location of the garage panel?

When selecting your panel, get a large main lug panel that will provide you with plenty of room for your new circuits. Get something with a 150 amp rating. The actual power available at the subpanel will depend on the existing service capacity, the wires feeding it and the breaker protecting those wires.

Post back with some more details and we can give you a better idea.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-03, 09:35 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dry Side of Washington State
Posts: 738
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What size is your main service panel? 100 amps? 150 amps? 200 amps?
 
  #5  
Old 04-16-03, 06:17 AM
aerosigns
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Garage Sup-panel

Thanks for the answers.

I am having an electrical contractor connect power from the house box to the garage box. I am not sure what size panel my house panel is. How do I tell?

Sorry about calling it a fuse panel, yes I should have called it a breaker sub-panel.

Main 220 items will be a 60 gal. air compressor, an old electric kitchen stove (used for powder coating parts), and possibly someday some type of welder, and I am not sure what type of power will be required for the furnace.

Currently I have a 110 mig welder, 110 window A/C. Power use after that would be the same as any other garage. 5 flourescent light fixtures, power tools, TV, radio, etc.
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-03, 06:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's some pretty high-powered stuff. There's a really good chance you're going to need a service upgrade to go along with this. Since you will have an electrician on site, ask him/her for advice on sizing the subpanel and whether or not you need an upgrade.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: