Existing lights question

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-17-03, 06:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 229
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Existing lights question

I was in the basement last night looking at the new lights I installed when it occured to me that I still have the existing lights and circuit to deal with. I have 4 pull-chain lights on an existing circuit that will no longer be needed when I cut over to the new subpanel in the basement.

What do you typically do with these? Do I need to take them out and disconnect them at the source (not sure where that is at the moment). If I were to just leave them there, I'd have to leave access to them since technically they'd be junction boxes, right?

Thanks,
Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-17-03, 06:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, you will need to take them out and disconnect them at the source (you should figure out where that is). If you still need them temporarily during construction, you can leave them there for now. If you can't find the source (e.g.., the cable disappears into the wall or ceiling), I suggest that you convert the fixture closest to the source to a receptacle, locating it at the most convenient place that the cable will reach to.

And you are correct, you need permanent access to all wiring that you can't disconnect at the source.
 
  #3  
Old 04-17-03, 06:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes even if you are not going to use them if there are circuits in them they must be assessable. you could remove them totally which might be the easiest route but you have to look into each one and see if anthing else is fed off of them, because if there is then you will have to leave them or reroute the power to what is being fed. It is not uncommon in basements for the lights to feed a receptcle somewhere as home owners usually find them a easy source of power to something they decided to put in on the first floor of the house.
 
  #4  
Old 04-17-03, 07:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 229
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll have to look and see where they get power from and what else they feed. 2 of them look like "end" boxes - only one wire to them. That means that they're either on 2 different circuits (not likely) or that they feed something I can't see and come back. I'm the original owner of the house, so I know no one has tapped anything strange off of them. I'll just have to flip the breaker off and see what else goes out.

Either way, the unfinished storage area is at the end of the basement where all of the wiring enters the house from the main panel. If I can trace the wire that far back, I can use that circuit for an outlet (GFCI, says the code guy) in that area and feed whatever else is on it from there.

I don't really need them anymore since I've been using halogen worklights anyway. But I don't want the code guy to come by and tell me that I shouldn't be disconnecting and moving things yet.

Thanks,
Jim
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: