outlet not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-03, 06:31 PM
jbitondo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question outlet not working

there is no electric coming through to some of my outlets. This happened all of a sudden. The outlets in my garage and bedroom. when I go to the breaker box it looks like they are on the same set of switches... (switches are in sets of 2 and they are on the same set of 2) what do i need to fix this. I am assuming the problem is at the box

thanks,
Jenn
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-03, 06:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Look first for a tripped GFCI. Look everywhere inside and outside your house, not just in the vicinity of the dead outlets. If you're not sure what a GFCI is or how it works, post back for more information. You may have several of them, some in the strangest out of the way places.

If that fails, then go buy a $8 outlet tester at Home Depot. The kind that plugs in and has three lights on it, two amber and one red. Test the dead receptacles and tell us what the tester says. Then we'll tell you where to go from there.
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-03, 07:00 PM
jbitondo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i am not sure what a gfci is. If you could describe it that would be great.

I have already bought a outlet tester with 3 lights on it and I do not get any lights on it.

Thank you thank you
Jenn
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-03, 07:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A GFCI receptacle is a receptacle with two buttons on it, marked either "R" and "T", or "RESET" and "TEST". They are commonly located in kitchens, bathrooms, basements, garages (even behind things in the garage), and on porches or other outdoor locations. Press the "R" or "RESET" button on any you find.

If you haven't already, push each 15 and 20 amp breaker hard to the off position, and then hard to the on position. Do this even if it looks like they are not already tripped.

Please tell us in what year your house was built.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-03, 12:15 AM
jbitondo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I will look for the reset/test buttons. I have seen some outlets with those buttons but my house doesn't seem to have them but I will take a look tommorrow to see if I can't find any

I just purchased this house 5 monthes ago... and I am learning.. The year of the house is 1992

thank you for your help
Jenn
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-03, 03:45 AM
lestrician
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Did you try turning the breaker off and back on?
 
  #7  
Old 04-20-03, 07:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,664
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
If the house is 1992 I think gfci was required then. Look in garage, basement, bathroom, outdoors, any other wet location.
 
  #8  
Old 04-20-03, 08:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the bathroom receptacles are dead, and since this house was built in 1992, the GFCI you are looking for is almost certainly in the garage.
 
  #9  
Old 04-20-03, 08:56 PM
jbitondo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

thank you thank you ... I found the reset button (it was hidden)and it fixed everything... the bathroom and the garage...

I can't thank you enough....
Thanks,
Jenn
 
  #10  
Old 04-20-03, 09:19 PM
texsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

Where was it hidden at ? We would like to know for future reference.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: