Recp. Outlets/Converting

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-03, 07:20 AM
ghederer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Recp. Outlets/Converting

I currently have two prong outlets in my home. I would like to convert to three prong/grounded. Is there away to do this short of rewiring my whole home? All suggestions are appreciated. Thank You
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-03, 07:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,667
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
If you don't have a ground wire present in the box then you can use GFCI receptacles and put the little stickers on saying no ground. One gfci can protect all the receptacles down line from it.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-03, 07:45 AM
ghederer
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Joe
Will that type of rec. protect my electronics? Mainly my computer!
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-03, 07:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,667
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
You will need a properly grounded receptacle. It is possible that there is a ground. You will need to investigate. If you have conduit, that may be able to be used as the ground. You can not ground to a water pipe. You must run a new cable back the service panel and ground there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: