three way switches


  #1  
Old 05-05-03, 02:18 AM
Tom
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
three way switches

If your installing more then one light fixture between switches, do you need to use 4 wire between lights, or can you continue to use three wire as long as the white wire coming from the last fixture is used as a traveler
 
  #2  
Old 05-05-03, 08:29 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
To do this, you must use four insulated conductors (plus ground) between lights.

However, this cable routing is a generally bad design, because it leads to overcrowding and confusion at the lights. It is much better to use one of the following routings instead (where "-" is 14/2 and "=" is 14/3):

(1) Power-S1=S2-L1-L2-L3
(2) Power-S1=L1=S2, and L1-L2-L3

The first option is my preference by far, primarily becuase it means that all white wires are neutrals, and light wiring is as simple as matching colors. This eliminates a lot of confusion.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-03, 03:06 PM
Tom
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
(option 1) wire from the first switch to the second switch and then the lights?
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-03, 06:40 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yes. That's the way God intended.
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-03, 02:13 PM
Tom
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
That worked. Thanks, i just learned how to wire my first three-way switch
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: