ACFI - Arc Fault Circuit Interupter

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-11-03, 07:17 PM
dkmarks1109
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
ACFI - Arc Fault Circuit Interupter

I am converting my garage to a bedroom and the code requires the installation of AFCI's on all bedroom receptacle circuits.

Has anyone installed one of these?

Are there any tips that you can pass on?

How do I tell if it is a 20 amp or 15 amp circuit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-11-03, 07:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A 15-amp circuit has a breaker that says "15" on it. A 20-amp circuit has a breaker that says "20" on it.

AFCI breakers install very much like GFCI breakers. These are both installed pretty much the same as a regular breaker except for the connection of the white wire to the breaker instead of the neutral bar, and the connection of the pigtail on the breaker to the neutral bar.
 
  #3  
Old 06-11-03, 07:47 PM
zzzap
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Never used an Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter before. They must be installed in new bedrooms, according tho the NEC. However, I dont see them as being as much of a success as GFCI's, because they are far from perfect. They won't interrupt the circuit until an arc has already occured, and a fire possibly started. But go ahead and install an AFCI breaker for that circuit, and make sure you stay with the breaker size that is currently there.
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-03, 06:33 AM
dkmarks1109
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Thanks. The electrician at work says they are fairly simple to install; just folllow the directions and be careful. But everything that I read says to not mess with them and have a qualified electrician do the work.

I'll let you know how it turns out...if I can
 
  #5  
Old 06-12-03, 07:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The classical advice is to let an electrician do all work inside the panel. Any reader of this forum will note that people who obviously know nothing about electricity routinely change breakers (usually when there is nothing at all wrong with the breaker). I'm pretty much in the middle. I think the panel is no place for a novice, but I also think that it doesn't necessarily require an electrician.
 
  #6  
Old 06-12-03, 09:21 PM
Vicki James
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
FYI- You may already know this but lights and smoke alarms installed in a bedroom also have to be on the arc fault circuit breaker.

Vicki
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: