get electrician licence

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-16-03, 07:10 AM
vicente5632
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
get electrician licence

i ben working as a handyman and i think is time to get better so i like to have my electrician licence were i start do i have go back to school?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-16-03, 07:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Best to submit this question to the "Electrical" section of this Forum---Good Luck!!!
 
  #3  
Old 06-16-03, 06:03 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,903
Likes Received: 3
I'll give you my .02 and then move this to electrical.

In Canada and I believe it is the same in the US, in order to be signed up for an apprenticeship program you need to be working for someone in the trade and then your employer will sponsor you for the program.
In order to get hired though and to be competitive in the workplace you should have taken a pre-employment course and be a high school graduate.
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-03, 08:00 PM
P Michael
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
There should be a FAQ on this board about apprenticeships and fans and three way switches.
Anyway, Greg does need to go to school. However, it is more or less free. Both the electrical union and the Association of Builders and Contractors [ABC.org] offer free electrical apprenticeship programs. Contact them.
`Peter
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes