get electrician licence


  #1  
Old 06-16-03, 07:10 AM
vicente5632
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
get electrician licence

i ben working as a handyman and i think is time to get better so i like to have my electrician licence were i start do i have go back to school?
 
  #2  
Old 06-16-03, 07:58 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 1,983
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Best to submit this question to the "Electrical" section of this Forum---Good Luck!!!
 
  #3  
Old 06-16-03, 06:03 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,500
Received 68 Upvotes on 62 Posts
I'll give you my .02 and then move this to electrical.

In Canada and I believe it is the same in the US, in order to be signed up for an apprenticeship program you need to be working for someone in the trade and then your employer will sponsor you for the program.
In order to get hired though and to be competitive in the workplace you should have taken a pre-employment course and be a high school graduate.
 
  #4  
Old 06-16-03, 08:00 PM
P Michael
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
There should be a FAQ on this board about apprenticeships and fans and three way switches.
Anyway, Greg does need to go to school. However, it is more or less free. Both the electrical union and the Association of Builders and Contractors [ABC.org] offer free electrical apprenticeship programs. Contact them.
`Peter
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: