250 volt outlet to 230 volts

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-24-03, 09:46 PM
chidude
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question 250 volt outlet to 230 volts

Is there a way to change a 250 volt outlet to a 230 volt outlet without rewiring back to the box? I have a 250v/30amp outlet and a 230 volt plug on my air conditioner, can this be done without frying the air conditioner?. Thanks for your help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-24-03, 09:54 PM
Sparkadelic
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
A 250 volt plug and a 230 volt plug are the same....Where I am from....I believe you mean the amperage is different? What is the difference between the plug and receptacle?
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-03, 05:43 AM
chidude
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
it is a 250volt/30amp plug with 2 flat female receptacles sideways -- and a round female under them. The A/C plug is 230volt/20amp with male prongs, one sideways and one straight up and down - l with grounding plug underneath.
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-03, 07:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure. It's very easy to change the receptacle. But you'll have to also change the breaker from a 30-amp breaker to a 20-amp breaker. As Sparkadelic said, the difference between 250 and 230 is irrelevant. It's the difference between 30-amp and 20-amp that is significant.
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-03, 01:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 525
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may need to splice some 12 guage wire on the 10 guage (30 amp) wire in the box. You may have a problem connecting the 10 guage wire to the 20 amp receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: