250 volt outlet to 230 volts


  #1  
Old 06-24-03, 08:46 PM
chidude
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question 250 volt outlet to 230 volts

Is there a way to change a 250 volt outlet to a 230 volt outlet without rewiring back to the box? I have a 250v/30amp outlet and a 230 volt plug on my air conditioner, can this be done without frying the air conditioner?. Thanks for your help
 
  #2  
Old 06-24-03, 08:54 PM
Sparkadelic
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
A 250 volt plug and a 230 volt plug are the same....Where I am from....I believe you mean the amperage is different? What is the difference between the plug and receptacle?
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-03, 04:43 AM
chidude
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
it is a 250volt/30amp plug with 2 flat female receptacles sideways -- and a round female under them. The A/C plug is 230volt/20amp with male prongs, one sideways and one straight up and down - l with grounding plug underneath.
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-03, 06:25 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Sure. It's very easy to change the receptacle. But you'll have to also change the breaker from a 30-amp breaker to a 20-amp breaker. As Sparkadelic said, the difference between 250 and 230 is irrelevant. It's the difference between 30-amp and 20-amp that is significant.
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-03, 12:42 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 525
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may need to splice some 12 guage wire on the 10 guage (30 amp) wire in the box. You may have a problem connecting the 10 guage wire to the 20 amp receptacle.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: