Bathroom outlets don't work


  #1  
Old 07-22-03, 08:07 AM
MP99
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Bathroom outlets don't work

None of the outlets in my bathroom work. The outlets are the ones that do not have the reset button on them. I've reset the circuit breaker a couple of times and that didn't work. Then I changed the 20amp GFCI circuit breaker/fuse and still doesn't work. Any suggestions on what to do next would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 07-22-03, 08:32 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 1,983
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thebathroom receptacles may be connected to the Load side of a GFI receptacle in another location, which includes exterior GFI receptacles. ALL GFI receptacles must be checked for a Tripped" mode. ------Good Luck!!!!
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-03, 11:03 AM
MP99
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I don't quite understand your reply. None of the circuit breakers are on trip mode. Should I reset every circuit breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-03, 11:19 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 1,983
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
My reply mentions GFI receptacles, not circuit-breakers.------Good LucK!!!
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-03, 07:47 PM
scott e.'s Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 385
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Many home builders skimp on the requirements for GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupters) by only installing as few as possible in the house and then connecting all loads required to be protected to these. This means that the GFCI outlet in the garage or patio could be feeding power to your bathroom receptacles. A GFCI receptacle is one of the smooth faced rectangular ones with two push buttons between the outlets. One button says "Test" the other "Reset". If the GFCI has tripped, the "Reset" button will be popped out. Press the reset button to reset the circuits. GFCI protection is required in garages, bathrooms, kitchen counter areas, basements, outside receptacles, etc. Start you search in these locations for a suspect outlet. Good Luck. PS if the outlet won't reset or tripps immediately, write back or call an electrician!

Scott E.
 
  #6  
Old 07-24-03, 06:28 AM
MP99
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you, Scott e. and PATBAA for your replies. I found the GFCI receptacle that's connected to the bathrooms, reset it and it worked! Thank you for your advise. The GFCI receptacle was in a 3rd bathroom (guest bathroom) that we never use. Do you advise that I replace the standard/non-GFCI receptacles in the other bathrooms (the ones that we always use) with a GFCI one?
 
  #7  
Old 07-24-03, 06:35 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
No. It would be a waste of money. The one GFCI protects them all, as your experience with this problem proves. Having a GFCI in each bathroom would not ensure which one trips. You may just find yourself resetting three GFCIs instead of one.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: