temporary service?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-11-03, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ga
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
temporary service?

I'm building a house, and would like to run power to my breaker box from the temporary pole meter.. distance is 125 ft and would like to run some lights and plugs, and the hot water tank on occasions. I have 300 ft of 10-2uf outside wire. my question is, can I take 2 each of 150ft and tie the ends together to make 1 wire. since 10-2 is 30amp rated, would that give a 60amp wire? thanks David
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-11-03, 12:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,677
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
No you can't do it legally.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-03, 01:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ga
Posts: 41
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
but,,, would it work?
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-03, 05:29 PM
autotech156
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
NO I DON'T beleive it will.

None the less even if you were only to run it as a 30a circuit you should have 10/3 not 10/2. The grounding is pretty important!! (that is assuming your going 220v for the hot water tank)
 
  #5  
Old 08-13-03, 06:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,677
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
Very dangerous. You can't guaranty that the current will be split evenly.
 
  #6  
Old 08-14-03, 01:05 AM
mcsew2k
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Now you can tell from my other posts that I do not know much about electrical engineering but I know this sounds dangerous!

David
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: