Ground wire in a metal box

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-03, 03:04 PM
T
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 406
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground wire in a metal box

When putting in switch's or recp. in a metal box should I connect the ground wire to the box or to the switch/recpt. Or pig tail it and connect it to both. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-03, 03:09 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connect to the switch or receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-03, 05:22 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Both
 
  #4  
Old 08-19-03, 06:33 AM
brickeyee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The box is required to be grounded. The mounting screws of a device are not allowed as the only ground. Pigtail and hook up to both.
 
  #5  
Old 08-19-03, 09:09 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Art 250.148 (A), Metal Boxes reads-----"A connection shall be made between the Equiptment Grounding Conductor(s) and a metal box by means of a grounding screw or a listed grounding device"
 
  #6  
Old 08-19-03, 09:23 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 674
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So if you mount an expansion ring/box on an existing box for more room, you would have to pigtail a ground on each one? Or since the expansion box is not a device, the standard mounting screws are sufficient to continue the ground connection?
 
  #7  
Old 08-19-03, 10:05 AM
brickeyee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The mounting screws for attaching boxes together (gangable), or mounting a plaster ring provide an adequate ground connection.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: