Circuit Breaker/Surge Arrester

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-03, 02:13 PM
mikenh
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Circuit Breaker/Surge Arrester

I want to put a Siemens Circuit Breaker/Surge Arrester (QSA2020)in my full panel. The easiest way is to replace a 240V breaker, but the two breaker levers on the Siemens operate independently. So is it a real bad idea to have the two loads on a 240v device capable of tripping separately?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-03, 04:27 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure I understand what you said, but I think what you want to do is impossible. What do you mean by "replace a 240V breaker"? Replace it with what?

If you are thinking of a tandem or twin breaker (i.e., two skinny breakers in the same space as a regular breaker), this won't work for three reasons: (1) The tandem breaker will provide zero volts rather than 240, (2) Your panel is not designed to take tandem breakers, and (3) You don't want a 240-volt load on a breaker with independent levers (which is the answer to the question you actually asked).

If you mean something other than a tandem breaker, then please explain further.
 
  #3  
Old 09-12-03, 05:02 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
John,
mikenh means http://www.sea.siemens.com/reselec/product/rzcbsa.html
It is a secondary surge arrestor with two single pole 15 or 20A breakers. This allows you to have the surge protection, and not loseout on the breaker space.
mikenh.
You cannot replace a 2 pole breaker (240V) with two single pole breakers without an approved handle tie. Try to find two other adjacent breakers to make the switch.
I have something very similar in my panel. Great idea!
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-03, 05:20 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ron. I clearly did not read the original post very well.
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-03, 05:38 PM
mikenh
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry for any confusion. The Siemens unit consists of two 20A breakers mounted together and it occupies two positions in the panel. The standard 240V 20A breaker I propose replacing also occupies two positions. The difference between them is that the standard 240v breaker has the on-off levers joined together, and the Siemens does not. Thanks.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: