Supplies Needed For Adding A Switch

Old 09-29-03, 12:18 PM
wilsman2
Visiting Guest
Supplies Needed For Adding A Switch

I HAVE A WALL SWITCH THAT CONTROLS A PLUG OUTLET. I WANT TO INSTALL A DOUBLE SWITCH AND CONTROL BOTH THE OUTLET AND A CEILING MOUNTED LIGHT FIXTURE.
WHAT SUPPLIES WILL I NEED?
WHAT TYPE OF POTENTIAL STUMBBLING BLOCKS MIGHT I ENCOUNTER ATTEMPTING TO CONNECT THE NEW SWITCH TO THE LIGHT? (I AM REPLACING A CEILING FAN THAT WORKED OFF OF A PULL CHAIN)?
I ORIGINALLY THOUGHT THAT I COULD CONNECT THE LIGHT TO THE SWITCH BUT THE WIRES CONTROLLING THE PLUG RUN DOWN THROUGH THE WALL AND THE HOT WIRE RUNS TO THE ATTIC. I'D LIKE TO AVOID CUTTING DRYWALL IF POSSIBLE BUT IF THAT IS THE ONLY OPTION I HAVE I MIGHT CONSIDER IT.
WHAT DIRECTION WOULD YOU SUGGEST; NEW SECOND SWITCH OR DRY WALL AND REWIRE?
I'M A TOTAL NOVICE ABOUT ELECTRICITY.
THANKS

Old 09-29-03, 02:54 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The big question is what wires are present in the switch box. Shut off the breaker, gently pull the switch out of the box without disconnecting any wires, and tell us everything you see. Once we have this information, I think this project will be fairly simple and not involve any drywall damage.

P.S. The "Caps Lock" key is just above the left "Shift" key on most keyboards.

Old 10-02-03, 06:27 AM
wilsman2
Visiting Guest
The switch box contains:

Two sets of wires;
Three white connected with a cap, with one black coming off of the white wires connected to the switch.
two black connected with a cap, with one black coming off of the black wires connected to the switch.
Bare Silver ground wires all twisted together.
The switch has two screws on the left side.
Top screw is connected to the black line coming from the two connected blacks.
The bottom screw is connected to the black line coming from the three whites.

Thanks for your help.

Old 10-02-03, 06:33 AM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Is this aluminum wire?
In what city do you live?