Clueless about where to go now


  #1  
Old 10-03-03, 07:43 AM
allisonandrews
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Clueless about where to go now

Our dining room shares a wall with our kitchen. The lights in the dining room and kitchen both work as well as some of the plugs in the kitchen. The plugs in the dining room and some in the kitchen are not working now. We cannot find a breaker that is flipped. Actually, we cannot even find a breaker that would control these switches. We have tried flipping all of them off and then on and can match them with what they control - they all seem to be working fine.
I have read about GFCI plugs that are tripped affecting all the plugs down the line from them, but the only ones I can find in the house are located in the bathrooms. I have reset them and the outlets still do not work. The outlets in the kitchen say shock finder protected outlet, but do not have any kind of reset/test button on the outside.
Does anyone have any suggestions of any additional troubleshooting I can do before I spend a lot of money to get embarrased by an eletrician?

Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 10-03-03, 08:04 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 1,983
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
This certainly is a nuisance, but the important consideration is "Safety First!!!" You'r fortunate in having the receptacles (not "switches") GFI protected.

Check the C-B panel for a GFI C-B. This breaker will have a re-set button which must be pushed in to reset it. Operating this type of C-B "On-Off" will not re-set the C-B.


Good Luck & Enjoy the Experience!!!!!!!!!!
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-03, 09:16 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 17,733
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You have one or more GFCI receptacles that you have not yet located. Keep looking.
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-03, 09:40 AM
allisonandrews
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I think you may be right

I think you may be right about having more GFCI receptacles (thank you PATTBAA for correcting my terminology) that we have not located. Basically I have been searching for answers today while I am at work and relaying the message to my husband at the house. I am about to go home for lunch and do some investigating myself. He said that we did not have a GFI Circuit Breaker in our box that had a reset switch on it. He did say there was a normal breaker with GFI written in pencil as the label...

Thanks again for all your help - all is welcome here!
 
  #5  
Old 10-03-03, 10:55 AM
allisonandrews
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I got it!

I fixed it!

Yes there was another receptacle! I found it as soon as I started looking. Pressing reset on it did the trick!

I can't wait until my husband gets home and I get to tell him!!

Thanks again for all your help!
 
  #6  
Old 10-03-03, 02:19 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,081
Received 534 Upvotes on 437 Posts
Where was the receptacle?
 
  #7  
Old 10-03-03, 02:21 PM
allisonandrews
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Location

It was on the back kitchen wall on the bar between the kitchen and breakfast area. I had my knife rack in front of it so it wasn't in plain site unless you were looking for it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: