dimmer switch


  #1  
Old 10-19-03, 12:37 PM
lexolot
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
dimmer switch

i am attempting to install a dimmer switch for the first time and am pretty sure it is a single pole. there are 3 light switches next to eachother and the one i am changing has only 2 screws holding wires[one apiece] and both wires look the same. is it possible that there is no grounding wire?
thanks for help...lex
 
  #2  
Old 10-19-03, 12:55 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, it is possible that there is no ground wire, depending upon what state you are in and how old the wiring is.

Look at the wires that enter the box. Do you see ground wire anywhere? Does the switch you removed have a ground screw?
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-03, 01:54 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
It is possible there is a ground wire in the box that is not connected to the old switch.
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-03, 02:34 PM
lexolot
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
dimmer switch

thanks for reply...there is a third screw with no wire though. also, one of the switches does have a white wire attached. should i just go ahead and hook up the two black ones that were attached to the original swith? lex
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-03, 02:40 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The third screw on the old switch is likely a ground screw. If it is green, or if it visibly connects to the exposed metal of the switch then it is a ground screw.

The fact that a white wire is connected to a switch does not mean anything. This is acceptale. According to code, it should be reidentified as a hot wire. This is usually done by marking the insulation with a permanent black marker. Over the years this black mark may have faded.

Yes, just hook up your dimmer switch without a ground.
 
  #6  
Old 10-19-03, 02:51 PM
lexolot
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
dimmer

should i remove the green ground wire on my new dimmer then?
 
  #7  
Old 10-19-03, 03:25 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No, do not remove the ground wire. Simply do not connect it to anything, unless there are ground wires in the box. (You never answered that question, regarding whether there are ground wires in the box or not.)
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: