Wire Gauge Question


  #1  
Old 10-20-03, 04:03 PM
phinphan
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wire Gauge Question

I am wiring for a table saw, (havnt purchased it yet) most tablesaws are wired 110/220V. If I run 10 gauge wire and run it on 110V 20A circuit am I OK? Is there any harm stepping up a guage on the off chance I want to later convert that circuit to 220V?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-20-03, 04:18 PM
frenchsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
there is no harm to run 10 gauge wire but really check the source and the repectale where you plan to install it.

most place i intercouter it useally have 12 gauage wire

but check the distance first. then we will tell you what gauage wire to use

most table saw useally run 12 - 15 amp range at 120 volts but reconneted for 240 volts the amparage do drop in half like 6-8 amp range depening on hp rating and nameplate too


i really advise if you are ruuning 120 volt new repectale if that in garage it have to be gfci protcted , and make sure it is own line nothing else hook up with it ( because you say might change to 240 volt)

merci , marc
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-03, 04:30 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Like French said a 12 wire will be fine, your thinking about wire sizing is slightly in reverse. If you up the voltage to 240 you can use a smaller wire, no need for a larger one. The voltage jump enables twice the power thru the same wire. I think if it was mine and I didnt plan on dragging it all over green acres, if it was going to be fixed in place I would go for wiring it 240. It really helps if your service is marginal, like the lights flicker when the fridge comes on or if the run from the panel is long.
 
  #4  
Old 10-20-03, 04:34 PM
phinphan
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Maybe I should clarify something, I have already ran the 10 gauge wire, I plan to run 110V on it, Is there any harm in that? The run is short (20-25 feet) I am getting ready to hang sheet rock and wnated to make sure that the 10GA wire would be OK.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-03, 04:38 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,564
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The 10 will work, it is a bit of overkill and difficult to work with but there is no real harm in it. There are som4e other possibilities with it should it happen to trip the breaker on start up having 10 there. Its ok.
 
  #6  
Old 10-20-03, 04:45 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,060
Received 521 Upvotes on 426 Posts
There is no harm in #10 wire. It may difficult to attache to a receptacle. You may need to pigtail a #12 to it to use a regular 15amp or 20 receptacle.
 
  #7  
Old 10-21-03, 12:54 PM
brickeyee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Depending on the table saw you buy you may need those #10s. Delta Unisaws with 3 HP motors typically need to be wired 240 V, and will need #10s, and often a 45 amp breaker to start reliably.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: