2 3-Way Switches


  #1  
Old 11-01-03, 06:50 AM
GoForItOrLose
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question 2 3-Way Switches

At the top and bottom of my stairs I have a light fixture and a switch. Both switches operate both lights -- I believe these are called three way switches.

The problem I am having is that I want the switches to only operate the light its closest to. I want the switch at the top of the stairs to only operate the light at the top of the stairs... and the switch at the bottom of the stairs to operate the light at the bottom.

My home was built 7 years ago. The switch at the bottom has 4 wires coming to it -- white, red, black, and the ground (copper). The switch at the top of the stairs seems to have a lot of wires within the switch box itself, but only the white, black, red, and ground wires attach to the switch.

What can I do? Should I get an electrician? I dont mind trying whatever anyone recommends, but I am a novice so dont get too technical -- haha.
 
  #2  
Old 11-01-03, 08:03 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 17,505
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
switch

Lets go this way.Go to Home Depot or lowes and look at a 3 way switch on the box it will show you how it works .You will have to get a hot wire to that new bottom switch for power . ED
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-03, 08:32 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
YOu need to tell us all the wires in the switch and light boxes and what they are connected to. It might be possible to make the change you require with the existing wires.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-03, 08:43 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Modifying the switches will violate code. Stairwells are required to have light switches at both the top and bottom of the stairs so that the lights can be turned on and off by either switch.

You may not mind this, but a future homeowner may, and you may end up having to make it correct when you sell the house.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-03, 08:47 AM
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 317
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I agree with RACRAFT
 
  #6  
Old 11-03-03, 05:06 PM
bubinga1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Modifying the switches will violate code. Stairwells are required to have light switches at both the top and bottom of the stairs so that the lights can be turned on and off by either switch.
Is this only for new construction by todays code?
There was only 1 switch in the kitchen at the top of the stairs,and I added one to the top of the stairwell.
I dont think none of the houses in this plan have one at the top and one at the bottom.
I think these homes (Wheeling WV) were built around 1966.
Thanks, Tony D.
 
  #7  
Old 11-03-03, 05:40 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exceptions to this are for basements and attics. Execeptions are also made for somme other areas. Full flights of stairs between habitable areas (finished basements and first floor, first and second floor, etc.( require a light and switches at both ends.
 
  #8  
Old 11-03-03, 09:59 PM
bubinga1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks, Good deal:It's a basement in my case.
We have no 2nd. floor.

The switch for the basement was about 30" in from the doorway
on the kitchen wall.
I thought it was A PITA and I could not get used to it,(I just moved here about a month ago) thats why I added a switch (2, 3 ways of course) to the top of the basement
stairway.

Any chance any contractors out there in the Wheeling WV Area looking for a helper.
I would like to get into this line of work.

small world sometimes:>)
Thanks, Tony D.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: