How can I stop access to my outdoor outlet?


  #1  
Old 11-05-03, 01:12 PM
blue99nb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
How can I stop access to my outdoor outlet?

Hi

I want to limit/stop access to my outdoor outlet - I live in a condo and the contractors use anybody's outlet they please - my electric bill is high enough and once in a while is one thing but these guys come to my power for their power tools every time they're here. I looked at the circuit breaker board and there's just one switch for lights - the rest are for each appliance. I don't want to have to turn off all the "lights" every day by shutting off the circuit breaker so would like to know if there's an easy way to limit access - at least so I would give a contractor access at my discretion.

Can I:

get a hasp that will cover the two outlets (there's flip covers on each) so I can lock the access with a padlock

Or, can I easily myself shut off the power to the two outlets by undoing wiring

Or, do I need to call an electrician or build a cover myself?

I called a couple of local electrical supply houses and asked about locking covers and one guy said that he has's seen them offered by his supplier for several years.

Thanks for your help!
 
  #2  
Old 11-05-03, 01:22 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A locking cover is one solution, if you can find one.

Another one is to undo the wires inside the outlet. I don;t recommend this, as it makes the outlet hard to use if you want it.

Perhaps the best solution is to install a switch insode the condo to control the outlet. This may be tough, depending on how the outlets are wired.
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-03, 04:20 PM
DaveB.inVa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You could replace the receptacle with a twist lock 120v 15 amp receptacle. Then buy the proper 120v 15a plug, a short length of SO cord and the proper straight blade 120v female cord end receptacle. Now with this youd make yourself the proper adapter.

I dont know the code implications to this but it most likely should be GFCI protected. Also do you own this condo? If not then you should check on the implications of you doing the wiring as you may have to have a licensed electrician do any of this.. especially if you go the route of an internal switch.
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-03, 04:30 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,077
Received 529 Upvotes on 433 Posts
Big dog with his house next ot the receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 11-05-03, 04:55 PM
winkleal
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Most of the in use covers offer a place for a pad lock now. Here is a link for one from Carlon. They are available at Lowes and Home Depot.

Tony

http://www.carlon.com/sd-cgi/hsrun.h...ogObjectId=126
 
  #6  
Old 11-05-03, 05:07 PM
texsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Even if you own the condo, it is a multi-family dwelling and all work on the electrical is to be performed by a licensed contractor!

This is not to say that you can't replace the cover with a Carlon in-use type, just don't alter or add to the wiring.
 
  #7  
Old 11-05-03, 08:06 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,287
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If the receptacle is in a common use area, it might not be on your meter. Are you sure?
Does your breaker panel (meter) in your condo serve this recept?
 
  #8  
Old 11-05-03, 09:30 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 952
Received 14 Upvotes on 10 Posts
Connect your outlet to 240V, and just watch the fun as their tools explode
(just kidding!)
 
  #9  
Old 11-06-03, 03:06 AM
blue99nb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hi,

If my lights dim when the contractor turns on the power tool,
does that mean it is on my meter?

How can I know it really is my $?

Thanks
 
  #10  
Old 11-06-03, 03:18 AM
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Northeastern NC On The Albemarle Sound
Posts: 10,701
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Cool

Plug a radio or lamp into this outdoor receptacle and switch off your single-pole breakers one by one, starting with your GFCI breakers, to see if it's on your panel.
 
  #11  
Old 11-29-03, 08:24 AM
blue99nb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I know this was a long time - here's what I found and have done.
Yes, the outside outlet is on my dime, thanks for the test - I found a locking weatherproof cover so I didn't have to call the electrician for this one - all the electrical outlets are on one circuit breaker switch -
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: