Converting 220 Outlet to 110????

Old 11-10-03, 12:17 PM
ricciuto
Visiting Guest
Converting 220 Outlet to 110????

I am not an electrician. So this may seem like a very dumb question to those people with electrical background.

In my garage I have a very large outlet that looks similar to an electric range. I think a welding machine was used here.

I have no use for this outlet. Can I convert this to a regular 110v outlet service withouth changing the wires back to the panel.

I would love to utilize this circuit as my main panel box is full now. I have a 6hp compressor that needs a dedicated service and this would fulfill my needs.

What do I have to do to make this work safe?

Old 11-10-03, 01:03 PM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The answer is maybe.

You will need to determine what size wire is involved and whether the cable contains two wires plus a ground or three wires plus a ground. You will also need to know the current breaker size. When you determine this, we can help you determine if you can proceed.

What type of plug does your compressor have? Does it state what sort of circuit it needs to be connected to?

You do realize that some work may very well be required at the panel even if you don't have to run new wire.

Old 11-10-03, 10:14 PM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I'll be more optimistic than Bob. I think it is almost certain that you can do this, no matter what you find. I have these questions, which are quite similar to those asked by Bob:[list=1][*]Tell us exactly what the receptacle looks like. Choose from the ones on this web site.[*]Tell us what the plug on your compressor looks like. Choose from the same web site.[*]Tell us how many amps the breaker is that turns the power to this receptacle. That will be the number on the breaker handle.[*]Tell us how wide the breaker is (1 inch or 2 inch or something else).[/list=1]

Old 11-11-03, 05:01 AM
ricciuto
Visiting Guest
Thanks, I get back with the information tomorrow