Dryer Relocation


  #1  
Old 11-19-03, 12:02 PM
cxhardy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Dryer Relocation

I am moving my dryer to a new location in the house without a 220V outlet. Is it difficult to add the outlet? Can I use the existing 110V wiring in the room or do I need to run new cable from the power source? I am a fairly novice electrician, not afraid of hard work, but I want to be realistic.

Thanks, in advance, for the help
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-03, 01:36 PM
bubinga1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No you can not use the existing 110v wiring.
Here is a good start

Thanks, Tony D.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-03, 01:40 PM
bubinga1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If your Dryer outlet/Plug is currently 3 prong,

"Note All new dryer circuit/receptacle installations must be grounded, which means you would be using a 4 wire dryer cord /Outlet/ 3 wire with ground.with a new circuit install."

Thanks, Tony D.
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-03, 06:09 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yup! 10/3 romex, 2 pole 30a breaker, 4 wire dryer receptacle, 4 wire dryer cord, remove bond jumper in the dryer. White to white, green to dryer case (ground).
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-03, 05:22 PM
cxhardy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

Thanks for the responses and help
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: