hot tub gfci tripping

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-26-03, 05:28 AM
4roys
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
hot tub gfci tripping

Have a Hot Springs hot tub, 110 power. We moved about 2 years ago and I ran a dedicated 110 line to a 20amp breaker we added to panel (which is what man. recommends and the way it was wired in our last home). The GFCI is part of the plug coming from the hot tub, and located in a weatherproof box with cover (that came with tub). Lately, about once every two weeks, the GFCI will trip. It doesn't seem to be related to using the tub. I can't tell if it is related to getting wet, although it shouldn't be where it is located. Am I missing something? Actually, this started a couple months ago and at one point the original GFCI plug that came with the tub actually stopped working all together and I had to replace. Any thoughts would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-03, 11:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you correlate the tripping with anything? Rain? Humid days? Windy day?

Most likely, moisture is getting in somewhere, not necessarily in the box containing the GFCI. Could be at the hot tub, or perhaps the cable is damaged somewhere. What kind of wire or cable did you use? Is any part of it buried? Where is the hot tub located? Are any of the electrical connections subject to the weather (even if in a so-called weatherproof box)?
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-03, 06:09 AM
4roys
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
John:

I appreciate the reply. I doubt the line from the panel to the outlet is damaged, but I'll check. I'll also take the panel off the hot tub and make sure there is no damage or chance of water getting in on other end. If none of those are the cause, my last thought is that even though the GFCI box has a gasket where it is mounted, I should caulk around the box to make sure water is not getting behind the gasket somehow.

p.s. nothing is buried and I suspect I used 12/2 or 10/2. I usually err on the side of being oversized.
 
  #4  
Old 11-27-03, 07:29 AM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
same problem

tracked it down to bad breaker, shorted from L1 to L2, breaker was 6 months old, in proper weathertight disconnect box. found it rusted, i am out another 70 ucks....moved disconnect out of the weather. do you have a meter?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: