Severed underground phone line

Old 11-26-03, 05:45 AM
Korrick
Visiting Guest
Severed underground phone line

I found my phone line with my shovel last night. Yarg! Phone company can't get to it for a couple days. I did the same thing in our last house and tried to patch it with the standard little round phoneline splicers. It didnt work. Is there a way I can do this myself. I really dont want to be without phone service through the Thanksgiving holiday.
The line is solid black plastic, making it difficult to expose and strip the wires with a knife. The standard wire stripper obviously wont work.

As I recall, the guy that fixed the last time had some sort of protective device that he stuck both ends into to splice then used silicon to seal it. Anyone know where I could find such a beast? or have other ideas?

Old 11-26-03, 11:51 AM
vermontdoc
Visiting Guest
I'm a total rank amateur, but i did such a thing last fall, and it's worked so far,

the wire has a plastic jacket and then a coiled metal 'spring' around that, peel off the jacket and unwind the spring. expose enuf to make a splice (I had to add some wire) and coated the mess with pvc glue (each individual wire) then electric tape, repeat, then glued and taped all 4 wires together, then coated the whole works with silicon and wrapped it up in plastic. maybe this will get you through the weekend till some real electricians reply.

Old 11-26-03, 02:02 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Why didn't the 3M round splices work? This would be a fine solution until the phone co. can come out to do a real underground splice.

Old 11-26-03, 09:04 PM
dad2three2001
Visiting Guest