Main Panel - Safe Work Practices

Old 12-01-03, 09:09 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Main Panel - Safe Work Practices

Comments in a number of threads expressing concerns about working on a main panel have caused me to wonder if there are "better" practices I could adopt or if there are things I do that are inherently unsafe. There are likely numerous other forum readers who have similar concerns. I would appreciate any comments from the "pros" out there that would help all of us "work safer." I worked as an electrician's assistant while in college and have re-wired three of my own houses, installed sub panels, and made numerous circuit improvments as a do-it-your-selfer. With that experience here is a short list of the practices I employ when working on a main panel.

1. Main breaker is always off when adding or removing a breaker.
2. Breaker is off when connecting or disconnecting a circuit.
3. When inserting or removing a cable, the ends of the cable are always directed out of the face of the box to avoid contact with the terminal bars or other wires.
4. When attaching wires to a breaker terminal I hold the wire with insulated lineman's pliers to avoid my hand contacting other wires or the panel box.
5. Neutrals are never doubled up on terminals but grounds are doubled up if space is tight.

I would also appreciate any comments regarding arcing within a panel (what causes it and how to avoid it) and any other hazards that I should be aware of.

I also appreciate all of time the "pros" on the forum spend to help the rest of us diagnose problems and make safe improvements. Thank you!

DavidJ

Old 12-01-03, 02:05 PM
rob1kva
Visiting Guest