splice ok in lb fitting?


  #1  
Old 12-04-03, 08:00 PM
TerryPba
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
splice ok in lb fitting?

Is it OK to make a splice in an LB fitting?
Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 12-04-03, 08:21 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, if the capacity is not exceeded.
This is not very easy to do though.
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-03, 08:31 PM
TerryPba
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I wouldn't be adding a connection, just extending it.
By tough, you mean the cramped quarters?
 
  #4  
Old 12-04-03, 08:39 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry, I should have elaborated.

I mean tough as in cramped and in not exceeding the capacity.

#12 wire has a box fill capacity of 2.25cu/in. If the LB is only 8cu/in and you have 2- 12/2 NM splicing inside; 2.25x5=11 cubic inches.

#14 wire is 2 cubic inches per conductor.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-03, 08:09 AM
brickeyee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The LB should be marked with a capacity in cubic inches. #14 wire requires 2.00 in^3 per conductor, and #12 requires 2.25 in^3 per conductor, #10 is 2.50 in^3 per conductor. Each wire entering counts as 1 ((1 hot + 1 neutral) IN + ((1 hot + 1 neutral)OUT) = 4, and all the grounds count as 1, total of 5 wires.
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-03, 08:42 AM
TerryPba
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Many thanks--the box is marked at 4 cu in. Back to the store!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: