some more rough in questions


  #1  
Old 12-13-03, 10:16 PM
trance's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 386
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question some more rough in questions

ok - here's my latest round of rough in questions.

1) I have a 100 amp panel. I am replacing the secondary ground
wire (from panel to water pipe) what size wire should I get?

2) I do not have enough screws in the neutral bar to attach
all the white, neutral conductors to. Can I attach two neutrals
together with a wire nut and jumper to one screw, or do I
have to extend the neutral bar? If I do have to extend the
neutral bar, how do I do it?

3) I just heard I have to use AFCI breakers in some locations.
bedrooms and smoke detectors, where else?

4) I installed a couple single gang "old work" plastic boxes.
these are now sitting behind the face of the old plaster.
I need to extend these boxes out, however, cannot find
any extension ring or mud ring for that kind of box, except
a metal one. Can I use a metal one, if so, how do i ground
it? If not, does anyone know where I can find a plastic one?

5) I've sort of asked this before, but i need a clarification.
I am installing the breakers now, before the rough in inspection.
Do I hook the circuits to the breakers or leave them off until
after the inspection?

thanks in advance and happy holidays!
 
  #2  
Old 12-14-03, 08:00 AM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
1) #8cu. Attach within 5' of the pipe entering the building and jump the meter if you have municipal water. If not then just hit any cold pipe at a point that the clamp will be accessible.

2) Double up on the grounds. If you still don't have the space then you have alot of circuits for a 100 amp panel.

3) Only NEW bedroom circuits. Not the smokes, unless your local codes dictate the smokes be on a BR circuit.

4) They do make plastic box extentions just like the metal ones. I'll see if I can find a link or Mfg. name.

5) Entirely up to you. Your AHJ may feel differently since you are not an electrician. He may want to see them with the panle cover off. Actually I would hope he DOES want to see the made up panel.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-03, 08:57 AM
trance's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 386
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
speedy petey -

thanks for the advice, just a clarification:

I have two bars - one has just neutrals on it, and one has
grounds. If I can put some of the neutrals on the ground
side I'll have plenty of spaces, but if I have to put just grounds
on the ground side, and neutrals on the neutral side, I won't
have enough spots (it's a 24 breaker panel, but only about
20 holes each side).

the bedroom circuits are new - in fact, most everything is
new. - this house had either very old circuits or very
poorly wired ones.

if you can find a link to the plastic box extensions I'd appreciate
it - need a few of them.

thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-03, 10:58 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,246
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
In your main panel the neutral buss and the ground buss are connected. It is only in sub-panels that they are not connected. You should see the two buss bars connected with a copper wire. You can put the grounds and the neutrals in either buss. As has been stated, you can double the grounds , two per hole, but only one neutral per hole.
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-03, 11:14 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,973
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Petey,

Read the NEC definition of 'outlet'. Smoke detectors are an outlet.

The smoke will need to be AFCI protected unless there is a local amendment to the NEC.
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-03, 11:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,973
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Plastic box extensions are available from Arlington, stock # BE1, BE2.

www.aifittings.com
 
  #7  
Old 12-14-03, 01:02 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Have to admit, you are correct.
 
  #8  
Old 12-14-03, 01:11 PM
brickeyee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The smoke detectors on an AFCI protected circuit is a real bit of stupidity that has crept in. I have heard of a number of localities exempting smoke detectors in bedrooms from the AFCI requirement.
 
  #9  
Old 12-14-03, 03:04 PM
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,262
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I know we do.
 
  #10  
Old 12-14-03, 09:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,973
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Why shouldn't the smokes be protected by an AFCI? If it trips you will still have the battery backup.
 
  #11  
Old 12-17-03, 09:39 PM
trance's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 386
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
thanks everyone for the advice. I called the AHJ and asked
about the AFCI breakers. Not required "yet" in my area,
FYI.

Hoping to do the rough inspection just after the first of
the year (when both I and the inspector has time...) and
I'll report back on the result. thanks!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: