Need to ground switches?


  #1  
Old 12-18-03, 07:16 AM
caleyg's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 306
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need to ground switches?

For normal light switches do I need to pigtail the grounds and run a jumper to the grounding screw on each switch? Or is it OK to just run the ground straight to the fixture? I know they never used to do it and I didn't know what the purpose of the grounding screw is.

I'm using romex and plastic boxes. FYI there is no inspecting authority in my jusrisdiction I'm just wanting to know what's safe and what's not.
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-03, 07:22 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, you should ground the switch.

The reason being that a ground will prevent the switch from becoming hot if something goes wrong with the switch or the wiring anywhere in the switch box.

With a plastic box there is no need to ground the box, so you have one less connection to make, which usually makes your wiring easier.

Just because it was not done years ago does not mean it is not a good idea, and it is now required by code to ground switches and outlets on new installations.
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-03, 01:30 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 475
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Before they made grounding screws on switches, some jurisdictions required that plastic plate screws (with plastic wall plates) be used when plastic boxes were used with switches. If voltage would get onto the switch, the metal plate screws would become live.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-03, 01:44 PM
caleyg's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 306
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So don't test them with your tongue, huh?

If voltage would get onto the switch, the metal plate screws would become live.

Kinda scary, huh? Thanks for the advice.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: