No breaker panel shut-off


  #1  
Old 12-18-03, 09:33 AM
Beto
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No breaker panel shut-off

The main power line to our "really" old house attaches directly to the house, passes through the meter and bends below into the house (by way of a metal elbow with a removable plate).
Inside the house, the three wires continue through a short length of conduit to the main breaker box. I have discovered that there is no shut-off switch either in the box or anywhere near the meter.
Since I would need to disconnect the power to install a new box how would I do this. Should the installation of an outside shut-off device be the responsibility of an independent electrician or is the power company responsible for this since the power would need to be turned off at (what appears to be ) the transformer located in our alley?


So glad this forum exists.
Beto
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-03, 11:42 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 149
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Codes vary from state to state about panel boxes. But, to shut off power to the panel, the meter head will have to be removed.
New panels have a main disconnect built in. You shouldn't need a external disconnecting means, there are some exceptions to that as well, but,I'll not confuse you on that.
More then likely you'll be in need of a whole new service. Not just the panel itself. Which should only be done by a electrician.
So, in saying that, you'll need a electrician to remove the meter unless you're sure that just a new panel is in order. If that's the case a electrician or the power company can do this. Don't attempt this on your own, if you cut the tamper proof tag off, you'll have some fancy explaining to do.
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-03, 01:26 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 475
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If you do try and remove the meter, make SURE that all circuits in your Panel box are off. You do not want to have any load on the meter when pulling it out or plugging it back in. As far as the tag goes, the power company (meter reader) will probably just replace it when they see that it has been cut off. I've never known them to ask any questions. If they do, all you have to say is that you were having some power problems and an electrician pulled the meter to inspect the connections. However, I would not suggest that you pull the meter unless you know what you are doing.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-03, 01:38 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 149
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
They have big problems with that other this way. Alot of problems with people bypassing the meter for two or so weeks then putting the meter back on. Here you get a stiff fine and possible jail time if you cut the tag off.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-03, 07:07 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,245
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It all depends on where you live. Where I live the power company came out and removed the meter so the electrician could make the switch.
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-03, 09:04 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,860
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unless they notice a major change in usage most Pocos won't complain if you break the seal. The first thing ComEd asks you (if you sound like you know what you're talking about) when you have power problems is to measure the voltage before the meter. Obviously you can't do it without breaking the seal.
If you do break the seal, and they notice a significant drop in usage they will investigate, and are usually not very happy until you have a pretty good explanation.
Call the PoCo first, and tell them you need to install/replace the main in the panel and that you need to pull the meter to shut off the power. They can't say no.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: